Rhythm Express

by Rhythm Express



The Rhythm Express invites all to invite March in with a Memphis Soul classic “I Can’t Stand the Rain.”

“I Can’t Stand the Rain” is the fourth single celebrating the grand history of roots singers by the Rhythm Express. Selena Evangeline led last season with Judy Mowatt’s 1972 ode to the hardships and struggles of women - “Black Woman” followed by Gizelle Smith’s empowering, “Hold Fast,” then Ammoye’s tribute to Phillis Dillon, “Midnight Confessions,” now Selena comes full circle with a remake of Ann Peeble’s classic 1974 rhythm & blues hit.

The Rhythm Express is committed to reviving and revisiting music that has roots deep in the planet’s soil - rhythms that beat at a jubilant tempo – an infectious groove with rich back history.


released February 27, 2015

Selena Evangeline – lead vocal/background

Gavin Hope – background vocals

Ernest Ranglin – lead guitar

Shane Forrest – rhythm guitar

Jesse “Dubmatix” King – bass

Everton “Pablo” Paul – drums

Bill King – producer/arranger/keyboards

Christopher Butcher – trombone

Bobby Hsu – tenor sax

Alexis Barro – trumpet

Engineer: Shane “Shaky J” Forrest at Side Door Studio

7 Arts Entertainment

Writers: Ann Peebles, Don Bryant, Bernard Miller

Publishing: Universal Music Publishing Group



all rights reserved


Dubmatix Toronto

This is dub and roots in the classic rockers tradition, with sultry melodies and praises to Jah almighty overriding a crackling, bass-heavy groove. Maintaining close ties to the classic and legendary sounds heard in 70s roots and dub while incorporating new technologies and styles. ... more

contact / help

Contact Dubmatix

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code